Pancakes. - Reisverslag uit Beith, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Saskia Veen - WaarBenJij.nu Pancakes. - Reisverslag uit Beith, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Saskia Veen - WaarBenJij.nu

Pancakes.

Door: Saskia Veen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Saskia

20 September 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Beith

Hiya folks!

Unfortunately, I’ve had quite an uninteresting week. I just keep scooping poop, feeding hungry animals and cleaning out enclosures. About 25 gulls have been released this week, so that’s good. All the grumpy mute swans that were in the bottom enclosure have gone as well (thank god), so no more grumpiness in the morning. We have gained a baby heron, though, and he is lovely. He is about two feet high (which is quite small), but he doesn’t realize that. Every time you come inside his enclosure, he looks at you like you’re an alien, puffs up his wings and makes baby heron-noises. Mack, our cute wee harbour seal, has taken to screaming during the night. This is quite annoying and to be frank, quite eerie. Not sure why he does this, because when I check up on him the next morning his pool is filled with fish and things that used to be fish. A young gannet came in a few days ago. It was quite sad, he was very maggot-infested. We hope he’ll make a fine recovery, he’s on the good track anyway.

When I came back from the supermarket with mr. Cat a few days back, the road was actually blocked by 150 cows. I thought this was Scotland, and that all the cows were Scottish Highlander Cows.. Apparently they have the black and white variety as well.

Yesterday I went to a Dutch pancake party in Glasgow. Even though I had about an inch of pancake, it was fun! Nothing like having pizza in the middle of the night. Take-away places in Glasgow are loads better than take-away places in the Netherlands. I am looking forward to Halloween so much! It’s supposed to be really big in Glasgow, and I hope Bianca and I will have a great time dressing up and scaring people!


I have been here for three weeks now, and I start to appreciate the Netherlands more day by day. We can get proper cheese on every street corner, we can get proper peanut butter and satay sauce in every supermarket and a Turkish person who sells lahmacun and falafel on every street corner as well. I’ll be in this place for seven more weeks, so I’ll see you all back home on the second of November! And just for fun, here are some pictures of wee little McDonald who was feeling particularly cuddly yesterday.

And now for the school stuff:
I have learnt that if you have the rabies shot before you're bitten by an infected animal, you have a 100% chance of survival. If you haven't had your rabies shot before you're bitten by an infected animal, you have a 0% chance of survival. So get your shot when working with bats.
I have also learnt that British people can't make Dutch pancakes.

I haven't come across any significant problems this week. the biggest thing was that I had to wait for an hour and a half for my bus because I don't understand the schedule.

My list for this week:
"The big light"
Brush and shovel (I knew the English equivalent already - brush and dustpan - this is typically Scottish)
Partial shelf
Coop/skip (This means the same thing, coop being more rurally Scottish)
Direct distance ("As the crow flies", knew the idiom, not the noun)
Hopper
Mini roundabout
Corvid
Roselle
Bullifinch
Fawn

Cheerio!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Saskia

Follow my journey to Hessilhead Wildlife Rescue Centre.

Actief sinds 05 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 107
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2409

Voorgaande reizen:

31 Augustus 2015 - 10 November 2015

Journey to Hessilhead Wildlife Rescue Centre

Landen bezocht: